Blog Tour

#BlogTour | #Review: BREAKING THE ICE by Julie Cross #Giveaway #Excerpt

January 08, 2018, 0 Comments | Comentarios

#NewReview
Breaking the Ice by Julie Cross xo

Title: Breaking the Ice
Author: Julie Cross
Series: Juniper Falls #2
Publication Date: December 26, 2017
Publisher: Entangled Teen 

The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.

#MyThoughts

Breaking the Ice is the second book in the Juniper Falls series by Julie Cross. Although we are introduced to these characters in the first book, Off the Ice, both books can be read as stand alones. However, I recommend you to read Off the Ice because it is a great book.

Breaking the Ice is a YA romance with many twists and scenes that will have you wanting more. And it helps a lot that both main characters --Fletcher and Haley-- are very appealing, funny, and cute when they have to be.

Haley. I may say that at first I was not very interested in her character in the first book because she kind of was the antagonist of it. However, as time passed, I think she evolved/was presented as a better character (or someone I could really enjoy reading). She is the captain of the cheerleaders along with other things --she is very outgoing and she helps a lot around her community. But! She seems to lack in school skills. Thus she is doing summer school. And throughout the book we can see that she is very persuasive, absent-minded, friendly, and determined.

Fletcher. I did not understand him at first because I focused on how Haley saw him. But when I started to pay more attention to his POW, I could get to really know him for what he was and not for what others thought he was (did you get it?). So I can assure you that I loved him. He is definitely a mystery for everybody. He is also cute, smart, very careful and not really sociable but very friendly.

Haley and Fletcher are two opposite poles whose attraction is inevitable. And overall, Breaking the Ice comes to be an incredible, cute and enjoyable book romance. We see them (H&F) achieve their goals, overcome their fears, and enjoy their lives. So, I absolutely recommend this series.

Book: +4.5 breaking stars!


#Excerpt

“I’ll give you two choices…one, you can tell me the truth about that little job of yours and I’ll leave you alone with your hangover. Or two, you can clean yourself up and get your head together and do some work with me, and I’ll forget about the panties and the money and the lipstick…” 

I doubt she’ll forget anything, but I have to hold out hope at least. I glance warily at her. “Option two. Definitely two.”

The smirk on Haley’s face is gonna be forever etched into my memory. She knew I’d pick option two.



* * *
OTHER BOOKS IN THIS SERIES!

Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin's Press). She's also the author of Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, Chasing Truth, Off the Ice and many more to come! Julie Cross was a longtime resident of central Illinois but has recently moved her entire family across the country to continue her academic studies at Stanford University.


#Giveaway

Puede que también te guste | You Might Also Like

0 comentarios: